FrancesRenHuang

Health Addicts

In Shopping, The Piglet Oinking on January 13, 2011 at 1:30 am

Bottles of Spices

One of my favorites

Ironically, this country is as obsessed about their appearance, (or shall we say ‘health’) as they are with their chunks of beef, and late night socializing. Fine by me because I love meat and I also love to be healthy. 🙂

Dietéticas, health stores, are commonly located every few blocks, selling whole-wheat flour, wheat germ, gluten-free products, honey, nuts, rice, soy milk, natural sugar, tea, home-made desserts, and the list just goes on. I’m always curious though, as I’m buying my cardamom pods and cumin powder, how these health stores work in this culture.  These health stores sell such surprisingly varieties of herbs and health products, in contrast, porteños’ diet consists of lots of white bread, sugar, and bland dishes.  Hey, I’m not complaining at all. I much prefer walking right next door for my organic products than driving to my nearest Whole Foods or Trader Joes. (But I do miss  crunchy peanut butter.)

Leave a Reply

