FrancesRenHuang

Entraña

In Eating Out, The Piglet Oinking on March 11, 2011 at 12:18 am

Menu

See that sugar on top?

Restaurant El Maipú

Av. San Juan 451, San Telmo, Buenos Aires 4361 4289

Someone very cool introduced me to her favorite cut of meat: entraña, aka skirt steak; since then, I had my shares of entrañas.  Though most of them come tougher then tender, I never can resist trying it when I see it on the menu. This time around, I hit the jackpot and found the place that grills up the perfect skirt steak.

Restaurant Critic: I adore the simplicity of the decore: some old photos hanging, an antique radio lingering on top of an antique cabinet; old-style counter being manned by a old man which can very well be the owner of the restaurant. It’s quiet, simple, and clean. A nice change from the meat-intense, busy-buzz of parilla restaurants I’ve been so far. I like it.

Food Critic: Other than my favorite tender piece of meat, the empanada was delicious; the sprinkle of sugar on top is incomprehensible but once I bit into it- Mmm. Okay, I might get why they do that. Very affordable: two pieces of steak (1/2 orders), fries, empanada round up to around 70 pesos ($18).

Pros

  • service
  • empanada and entraña
  • quiet clean ambiance suitable for friends, family and dates

Cons

  • bife de chorizo was okay.


Leave a comment